A Site To Learn More About Meditation And Yoga

How Many Times Should We Do Surya Namaskar In A Day?

How Many Times Should We Do Surya Namaskar In A Day? 3

Yoga in India is known for its various healing powers and the way it keeps the body healthy and disease-free. Yoga is practiced in India from old times and is still very popular with the majority of people in India. The holistic healing powers of yoga are known. It keeps you physically fit, mental and spiritual. Sun Greeting is one of the most powerful exercises, which is a set of 12 exercises. Doing just Sun Greeting Day is enough to keep you healthy and fit.

You can do Sun Greeting in two ways. One is to do it too slowly and gracefully, to focus on your breathing and the other method is to do it quickly. The slower method helps you relax your limbs and makes you calm. It is very effective for toning up your muscles and allowing you to trim and fit. Doing Sun Salut quickly helps to burn the extra calories.

It is recommended that you do Sun Salutation 12 times and remember that one set consists of twelve exercises. This way you have to do twelve sets.


You start Surya Namaskaras with a short prayer to the sun because it is the sun that provides you with energy. Each sequence when you do that begins with its own little prayer or mantra. Chanting this mantra fills your body with fresh energy.

Hasta Uttangasana:

This is an exercise in which your body takes the form of a crescent. Lift both your arms up and bend backwards with your hands stretched above your head. If you reach this position, you have to breathe slowly. Just bend your body a lot if it is possible for you. Do not overstrain yourself. breathing well is very essential if you do this pose. You have to breathe deeply if you do this asana.

See also  What do you learn from Kriya yoga?

Pada Hasthasana

The meaning of pada is hand and mouth and hastha means. When you do this asana, you have to bend forward and reach out your hands to touch your feet. If you bend forward, you must exhale. In the beginning you may not be able to bend properly and not touch your feet with your hands. But if you exercise regularly, you will be able to do it easily. It is important that you exhale as you bend forward.

How Many Times Should We Do Surya Namaskar In A Day? 4


Ashwa Sanchalasana:

The meaning of ashwa is horse and as the name suggests, you have to take the form of a reigned horse to this posture. This is an attitude in which you breathe. Once you have done Pada Hastha asana, you have to stretch your right leg back while you hold the left leg as it is. Hold your hands on both sides of the left leg and then breathe in and look up.


Here you have to go back your left leg and bring it with the right leg and lift your central part upwards, so that you can take the pose of a mountain. Breathe out when you take this attitude. Make sure that your heels do not lift from the ground. Both the feet must be firmly placed on the ground. If you leave heels to leave the ground, take your hands close to the feet. With practice you will be able to do this pose correctly.

Shashtanga Namaskara:

Next, go down on the floor and take a pose such that your feet, knees, stomach, chest, palms, chin, nose and forehead touch the ground. These are the eight limbs of your body with which you greet the sun. Do not forget to touch your soil on the floor. When you take this pose, you need to breathe.

See also  Secrets of the perfect yoga-nidra


This is the snake pose. From the Shashtanga Namaskara, you need to relax your legs and bring the middle part of the body to the floor. Lift your upper body off the ground with your hands held flat on the ground. When you take this pose, it looks like the pose of a cobra who is ready to hit his victim. Breathe in while you take this attitude of the cobra.


After taking Bhujangasana you have to go back to the Parvatasana. Lift your middle section up and keep your palms and feet on the floor when you are in Bhujangasana. Breathe out as you take this pose.

Ashwa Sanchalasana:

From Parvatasana you have to go back to the horse posture. When you took ashwa Sanchalasana earlier, you had taken your left foot forward. So, now you have to bring your right foot forward and let the left foot stay where it is. Breathe in if you take this attitude.

Pada Hasthasana:

Leave your left foot together with the right foot and let your hands stay where they are. Now lift your body and take the Pada Hasthasana as described earlier. Breathe out as you enter this attitude.

Hastha Uttasana:

After reaching the Pada hasthasana position, lift both hands up and bend your body backwards and take the posture of Ardha Chakrasana or Half Moon posture. Breathe in while doing this posture.


Here you will exhale and relax, and then back to the forms you took in the beginning, the Namaskara Mudra. This is a set of Surys Namaskaras. Repeat this 12 times to get the maximum effect. If you do this well every day, you do not have to do another exercise to keep your body fit and healthy. Some who are very health conscious and want to keep their body trim and well adjusted do as much as 120 Surya Namaskaras per day. But if you are a beginner, never do too much at the same time. Increase in the number gradually.

See also  Guided Meditation: The power to guide the mind


Related articles

Mindfulness for children and tell them why the world exists

Loading… MindYoga4U A Site To Learn More About Meditation And Yoga Menu home About Blog Contact Posted on January 11, 2018by admin Mindfulness for children and tell them why the world exists When we talk about mindfulness for children, among all the books of Thich Nhat Hanh in Spanish, which most the Dutch therapist Eline […]

Self-knowledge mindfulness and self-obsession

Loading… MindYoga4U A Site To Learn More About Meditation And Yoga Menu home About Blog Contact Posted on January 11, 2018by admin Self-knowledge and self-obsession mindfulness Era changes to the change of era and the danger of self-knowledge led to the obsession with self.   Self-knowledge and self-obsession in a world of spiritual materialism or […]

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.