A Site To Learn More About Meditation And Yoga

How important are Mudras in Yoga?

How important are Mudras in Yoga? 5
Mudra dignifies hand gesture.  There are dozens of mudras, and each represents a certain quality, such as compassion, courage or wisdom.
How important are Mudras in Yoga? 6
It is believed that through mudra practice, you can awaken the seeds of these states within you. It is the  # citta-bhavana method , or ” cultivate a specific state of mind .  
Mudras are found in the art and rituals of many sacred traditions, including Hinduism, Buddhism and hatha yoga.
The Mudras are a symbolic gestures carried out with the mind, hands, feet, mouth, eyes or body. They are widely used in Yoga and Indian dances, revering various aspects of Hindu deities and nature.
The specific origins of mudras are unknown, but each gesture is believed to be the natural outward expression of an enlightened inner state. Many of the most well-known mudras represent the qualities of a bodhisattva , a yogi warrior who fights without fear of ending the suffering of all beings.  
One can think of mudras as the sign language that springs from an open mind and an awakened heart.
The mudras contain a symbolism that aims to unify dualities, such as:  uniting individual consciousness to cosmic consciousness; the solar prana to the lunar prana; matter to the spirit, etc. In the context of Hatha Yoga , mudras are elements that support your practice.
In Gheranda Samhita, classic text of Hatha Yoga, we find that “the useful process that collaborates in the practices of pranayama, pratyahara, dharana, dhyana and samadhi is called mudra” (Souto, 2002). 
The power of these seemingly simple gestures goes far beyond adding and easing focus to your practice. Practicing mudra during asana, meditation, Pranayama or kirtan (singing) will help you calm the gossip of your mind in the background.
How important are Mudras in Yoga? 7

1) Anjali Mudra (prayer): 

See also  5 tips for returning to work after a vacation
With your hands on the heart chakra, gently press your fingers, grasp the palms of the hands with a small interior cavity. It is an excellent exercise to induce meditation, reduces stress and anxiety, providing harmony and calm.
2) Buddhi Mudra or Bhudi (balance):
Gathering the tips of the thumb and the little finger on both hands, press gently. The other fingers remain relaxed. It helps communication, regain balance of emotions, improve the functioning of the kidneys and bladder and increases the sense of taste.

The two gyan mudras below (Passive and Active) are the best known in yoga and act on the psychic and bodily level, symbolizing the harmony of consciousness.

3) Gyan Mudra – passive (awareness and knowledge): 
Gathering the tips of the thumb and index finger in both hands, press gently. This Mudra acts on the psychic and spiritual level, helping to calm the responsiveness by improving the states of tension.

4) Gyan Mudra – active: 
The gauge tips touch the first thumb joint putting pressure on the fingernail nail.
5) DhrmChakra: 
Balance our inner energy for our physical and spiritual environment. It develops spiritual potential. Connecting us to the spiritual world, allowing us to obtain the help of other beings in the universe. It assists in hearing the voice of divinity and discovering our mission in life, revealing our past lives.
6) Ganesh Mudra (decision and firmness):
Hands on the chest, the palm of the left hand out and the palm of the right hand facing the body. Breathe in and pull your hands in the opposite direction for a few seconds, several times. Then change the position of the hand. Strengthens your chest area, stimulates heart activity and strengthens confidence.

See also  2 Reasons Why Fall in Love with Yourself and How to Get It

Related articles

Japanese Shiatsu massage

Loading… Japanese Shiatsu refers to one of the oldest methods of treatment in Oriental Medicine. This treatment by finger pressure is used instead of acupuncture. During the session, the therapist works on biologically active points. Moreover, these terms are often chosen masseur intuitively. This principle, according to the founder of the national school Shiautsu – […]

Disclosure of Swadhiston Chakra. Video of Kundalini Yoga

Svadhishthana in Sanskrit means “the abode of me.” Svadhishthana Chakra Loading… located in the pelvis, and its pitch are approximately the width of two fingers below the navel. Its stem is connected with the area of the sacrum and nerve plexus. This chakra is the center of the unfiltered raw emotions, sexual energies and creative […]

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.